Fertile New World


Cryptic reasons inscribed in mystery
Exposed scars linger for the interpreters
It’s colour-blind
When emulating rainbows

Intentions attested in its history
Preserved by the appointed royal guards
I failed to embrace it’s transparency
I failed to absorb it’s dreaming

Flora and fauna rest contently on each shoulder
A tender passion is welcomed from both
It seeks shelter in unity
Justice becomes naked in its equality

So here I am
Stuck within the present
Blinded by my enemies
Discovering a fertile new world

The captain claimed that Australia was Terra Nullius
A manufactured chorus of fortune
Giving birth to a new colony
Logging the ancient hardwood forests

Endemic trade routes suspended
Ignorance is eternal bliss for some
Comfort in a shelter of silence
Kookaburra sings in harmony with scrutiny

Drafted treaties are lonely
Prisoners of light
Evolved perceptions of belief
The ransom to free a slave

© Leroy Wilson

About Stayne

Welcome to my page and thank you so much for stopping by. I feel honoured to share some of your precious time. These are just a collection of thoughts that have popped into my head and I have managed to store here. I am hoping that one day I will find the time and inspiration to return to these thoughts to edit and craft poems out of them...ah maybe one day.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

