Turning Pages


12 months today I started this page. This time has been a roller coaster of emotions, mainly to the destruction of my lands and the continued blatant racist policies that the Australian Government implements. This is a tribute to the renewed hope I have gained during this past year as I now have a greater understanding and belief that these policies are supported only by the small minority. I feel a great sorrow for this small minority of people as they are the ones infected with this disease I call greed. Unfortunately a lot of these people are the decision makers in this great nation. However, the tides are turning and the true voice of the people will soon be heard. I can not hate these people as I now know that hate only breeds hate. I love them like my own blood and am committed to helping them to conquer their addiction, their disease. It is in this renewed belief that I write to you tonight.

Turning Pages

from the moment when the light enters, until its dark and the music stops
i read the end to all the stories
turning pages in a hurry
i don’t get caught up in the plot

all my faith is invested in dreaming, never considered other prophecies
rivers wash away the fear
relieved my end is almost near
there is no time to be wasted on sleep

but then the sun goes down; again i feel all alone
can’t forget about the pain upon the faces from years gone by

from the moment when the light enters, until its dark and the music stops
its in this time i feel alive
a time i feel we may survive
spirits make love amongst tree tops

my faith remains connected to dreaming, while my churches are burnt and sold
will not believe they do not care
perhaps some just are unaware
trees are worth more than gold

and then the sun goes down, as time goes by, i know i’m not alone
can’t forget about the pain upon the faces from years gone by

i hear songs coming from the city
when the candles light, sounds like home
one day the tide will turn before the sun goes down
i have friends in high places, i have friends in the ground

© Leroy Wilson

About Stayne

Welcome to my page and thank you so much for stopping by. I feel honoured to share some of your precious time. These are just a collection of thoughts that have popped into my head and I have managed to store here. I am hoping that one day I will find the time and inspiration to return to these thoughts to edit and craft poems out of them...ah maybe one day.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turning Pages

  1. Kate Houck says:

    Wow! Remarkable poem, Leroy. The ending is especially powerful. I am moved by your efforts and continued perseverance and hope in fighting greed. It truly is a disease. This poem represents your talent as a writer and your compassion as a person.

    Like

Leave a Reply

